Inspired Design

Iris Interiors – Designed by Us, Inspired by You

What’s hot, what’s not?

6 Comments

Here are some of my favorite design trends, and yes, some not so favorite ones as well.

So what’s hot?  Still loving “chevron?” It’s been trending for some time and I am sure you have all seen the abundance of chevron pillows and chevron rugs online and in stores. You really can’t go wrong with a chevron pillow or this adorable chevron purse from Etsy. Wouldn’t this be cute paired with a white t-shirt and black capris for the spring? Although I’m not sure it could replace my standard giant bag that fits all of my “stuff.”

Luna Clutch grey chevron and purple

For the home, this slipcovered Ikea chair is one of my favorites (also from Etsy). I can just picture it in a baby’s room for either a boy or a girl!

IKEA Jennylund Custom Slipcover in Yellow Chevron

Warm gray walls would be a great backdrop for the colorful chair. Yes, gray has become the new beige and the “right” gray can certainly make a design statement while still being neutral. One of my favorite grays is Revere Pewter by Benjamin Moore. I’ve used this warm gray in bathrooms and bedrooms. It always looks best when paired with hardwood floors or tile and white trim.

Lastly, wallpaper is one of the hot trends right now. The latest designs are a far cry from the overwhelming florals and primary colored stripes you may remember from your youth. Check out these beautiful wallpapers by www.wallteriors.com and www.jonathanadler.com.

  

So, what are my least favorites on the design front?

Excessive matching is not a good look. There is a huge difference between matching and complementing. Complementary pieces or colors coordinate and pull a room together but add interest. No color, no architectural feature, nothing interesting for the eye to see will be bland, while a pattern that spills from the furniture to the walls to the accessories is overwhelming. This room is certainly an extreme, but all the same it is a dizzying example of matching overkill.

Courtesy of Ugly House Photos.

Unless you live in a luxurious castle, swag curtains are a home decor don’t in my chapter. Windows in any regular home will be swallowed up with swag curtains. On that note, I’m not partial to any type of curtains that block too much of the window. Let in some light!

Swag Curtains

Jersey Shore style with loud colors and clashing animal prints is anything but classy. A zebra rug or other animal print accessory is stylish when done tastefully. The same goes for bold colors. But unless you want to be mistaken for a poacher, this style should be avoided.

Some spaces give beige a bad name. A warm beige that pops against a white trim is classic. However, when the walls and trim are painted in the same pale beige color with a flat finish without even a hint of semi-gloss on the trim, it becomes the dreaded builder’s beige. It will make any room sterile and uninviting. The example below, is thankfully a “before” photo.

So there you have it, my design favorites, along with the trends that make me cringe. What are some of the trends you either love or hate?

Author: Ella Design Group

Ella Design Group is a boutique interior design firm helping clients express their own unique story, one design at a time.

6 thoughts on “What’s hot, what’s not?

  1. Great post! I loved the list!

    And on a side note, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen complementary vs. complimentary used incorrectly; it is nice to see a blog so well written!

  2. I still LOVE grey paint. It is such a great neutral. I also adore the greek key…. I don’t think it will ever go out of style!

  3. Great Post. I also think chevron print is hot, when done nicely. That picture of the excessive matching uughh. Try pulling someone who hasn’t done a thing to their home since 1985 and think chintz prints are classy….

    Thanks for visiting my blog

  4. Pingback: 2012 Recap: Our Most Popular Posts « Inspired Design

  5. Pingback: Avoid Design Disasters! | Inspired Design

Leave a comment