Inspired Design

Iris Interiors – Designed by Us, Inspired by You

High Point Highlights

12 Comments

The Fall Market in High Point, NC is one of the year’s highlights. I love being surrounded by other designers and getting a sneak peek at upcoming trends. I always return home utterly inspired. Now that I’m rested, rejuvenated AND we have power again (hooray!), here are some of the major trends I spotted:

1. Cowhide/Rawhides:

Cowhide was everywhere at High Point. Hide rugs ranged from neutral to animal print and worked well in layered looks or even as stand alone pieces on bare floors. This year, more than in previous years, we spotted a lot of chairs and benches upholstered with hides. I have to admit that I am a little freaked out about cowhide anything, but hides, as well as leather in general, are actually eco-friendly because they are a by-product of the food industry. It makes it a little better, but on the other hand, it definitely increases the appeal of vegetarianism. Below is an actual wolf we spotted that I would definitely have to bypass. Look at all of the metallic hides hanging below:

taxidermy wolf

Photo via my iPhone.

2. Chevron Everything:

high point market chevron

Photo via HGTV’s High Point Coverage.

chevron furniture

Photo via Swirls of Pearls.

The chevron trend is still going strong. The pattern graced wallpaper, fabrics, throws, pillows, rugs, and more.

3. Vibrant Colors:

Bold Color Home Decor

Via my iPhone.

distressed cabinet

via my iPhone. Slightly askew!

Pink sofa

Photo of sofa in Thibaut showroom via Bright Bold Beautiful via Apartment Therapy.

We saw a host of vibrant, rich, bold colors. Eclectic design remains strong and incorporates color with unconventional pieces and accessories, such as the crackled, deep red ceramic bottles with perfectly aged undertones and the bright, distressed china cabinet. Bohemian style was also showcased, though to a lesser extent, relying on funky prints and rich hues as seen in the textiles above.

4. Metallic:

Metallic Chair

Via my iPhone.

metallic silver lamp

via my iPhone.

sunburst mirror

via my iPhone

The metallic trend took High Point by storm. Lighting, accessories, and furniture were not exempt from glamorous high shine and gilded edges. Even cowhides were sprinkled with silver and gold as shown above.

5. Handcrafted and American Made

Cube Pendant Light

Via my iPhone.

bold colors

via my iPhone.

“Handcrafted” and “American Made” were among the buzzwords. The confetti cube pendant has that rustic, one-of-a-kind charm, while the quirky handmade dolls and hand-painted tribal bowls and platters would be perfect for any eclectic space.

6. Fun and Whimsical:

Antique clocks

via my iPhone.

antique clocks

via my iPhone.

Whimsical wall decor

via my iPhone.

Flower wall decor

via my iPhone.

funky chandelier

Via my iPhone.

dog art

via my iPhone

Neon Caesar Bust

Via HGTV’s High Point coverage.

Fun, colorful, funky, and daring. Need we say more?

7. Texture:

CrissCross Table Lamp

via my iPhone.

eclectic lighting

Via my iPhone.

The vendors at High Point were all about texture. Mixing grosgrain ribbons with wooden chairs, pairing velvet with linen, and crafting ceiling lights that appeared to be adorned with leaves, was just the beginning. Burlap, comfy layers, and natural materials rounded out the bill.

8. The Year of the Equestrian:

equestrian furniture

Claw Leg Saddle Stool via Noir.

Equestrian art

Via my iPhone.

horse art

Via my iPhone.

Horse Wall Art

Gold Leaf’s wire horse wall art via MeCC Interiors.

With hooves protruding from furniture, equestrian art, and figurines galore, horses were this year’s “it” animal. This fits perfectly with my love of equestrian-inspired design. Or maybe anything equestrian just catches my eye, wherever it might be?

What trends do you see on the horizon for the upcoming year?

Author: Ella Design Group

Ella Design Group is a boutique interior design firm helping clients express their own unique story, one design at a time.

12 thoughts on “High Point Highlights

  1. Reblogged this on homerenoexperts and commented:
    http://www.homerenoexperts.ca

  2. Thanks for the great HP roundup, Iris! Glad your power is back and you’re safe and sound, too.

  3. Oh my gosh, I love that white & gold coffee table!! Great pictures!!

  4. Lovely pictures! I loved these golden book covers!

  5. me too on the golden book covers. fabulous!

  6. Great post I didn’t go to high point this fall I am going to New York.

  7. Wow, that is a really gorgeous post!

Leave a Reply

